Programme Regional Competitiveness Styria 2007-2013

In the period from 2007 to 2013, Styria will receive some 155 million euros from EU structural funds to subsidize regional projects.

Encouraged by the great success of the Objective 2 program 2000 to 2006 Styria is starting its next round. From 2007 to 2013, 155 million euros will be provided from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) for regional development; in total, 310 million euros will be contributed by the EU, the national and the regional level. The entire project will involve an amount of about 950 million euros.
The project period 2007 to 2013 will focus on three priorities: Strengthening the innovation- and knowledge-based economy, Enhancing the attractiveness of regions and business locations, and Governance and technical assistance. Contrary to the period 2000 – 2006, the whole territory of Styria, including the city of Graz, will benefit from the programme, which was the first regional programme in all 27 EU member countries to be approved early in May 2007. As in the preceding Objective 2 programme, there are several areas which must be addressed in project applications in order to be eligible for subsidy.
Priority axis 1 “Strengthening the innovation- and knowledge-based economy” comprises 6 fields of action (FA), while 4 fields of action fall under priority axis 2 “Enhancing the attractiveness of regions and business locations”. Priority axis 1 corresponds to the European Lisbon goals such as competitiveness and employment, and priority axis 2 to the goals of Göteborg such as sustainability and furthering endogenous potential.

Styria’s Strengths

Styria is already well established as an internationally networked innovation, research and business location, a success which has been achieved, inter alia, by the formation of networks and “clusters” (automotive cluster, wood cluster). Today, the challenge for Styria as a business site lies, among other things, in securing and developing further the innovative potential of its flagship enterprises, in continuously broadening its basis of innovation, in identifying and building up areas which promise future potentials and growth as well as in exploiting its existing research capacities, results and ideas at national and international levels.
To cope with these challenges, the Styrian government has developed seven guidelines:

1. Innovation
2. Location strategy and internationalisation
3. Clusters, networks, fields of excellence
4. Autonomy and entrepreneurial spirit
5. Qualification of enterprises
6. Regions and infrastructure
7. Innovative financing

Based on these guidelines, Styria’s areas of strength should be developed further – be it in the automotive or mobility sector, in the creative economy, in energy and environmental technologies including renewables, in the wood and timber industry, human and food technologies, in micro- and nano-technology, telecommunications or material science. Progress in all these sectors should contribute towards turning Styria into a champion in translating innovation into marketable products. Thus, the measures taken in the scope of the EU-supported programme “Regional Competitiveness Styria 2007-2013“ are aligned with these seven guidelines and targeted to existing endogenous potential. In addition, the programme is to promote environmental technologies, tourism and as well as integrated spatial and urban development.

Operational Programme Regional Competitiveness
(PDF - only German version available)
European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
Förderungen Steiermark - Das Land Steiermark